Children do not respect their parents as much as they did in the past. This behaviour is now having a negative impact on society.’ Discuss. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

The level of respect children give their folks nowadays cannot be compared to that of the olden days which has affected society negatively. In my view, the reason for this is the increasing level of technology, social media and most importantly the upbringing of a child. The way and manner a child has raised play a vital role in the life of the child and how the child will behave in society, like respecting and honouring the older ones in society. Well-trained children respect their parents and people old enough to be their parents. For example, listening and obeying their parents. Furthermore, the low level of technology in the past had its advantage, the reason being that children had little exposure to the outside world and this helped them to pay attention to the life around them, learn morals and be respectful. Like, families spending time together and learning from one another. Technology has its way of making the young generation feel like they have the same level of knowledge their parents have, and this place a negative impact on the community. In addition, not only did the advance in technology affect the respect children give their parents, the by-product of the technology which is social media played a major role in reducing the quality of respect and honour children give their parents. From my experience as a parent, my children prefer to stay on their phones and tablets than spend quality time with us the parents, this reduces the amount of time we spend with them and how well we can train them. In conclusion, these reasons are not the only reasons that can affect society negatively. Although these can be changed, intentional solutions are being implemented in society.