Some people say that the best way to discourage smoking is to make smoking illegal in public places. Other people say that this is not enough and other measures are needed. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Making smoking illegal has been recognised as the best way to discourage people from smoking for some people, while their counterparts argue that other measures should be implemented as well. In my opinion, I do not agree with the notion that making smoking illegal is the best solution as raising people's awareness and increasing cigarette prices are effective as well. If the government force people not to smoke in public places, otherwise they will be punished, and the public might choose to smoke less than before. The government can impose penalties on people who smoke in the public including restaurants, hospitals, cinemas and on the Safeway. For example, if people don't smoke in a private space, they will have to pay a fine which may adversely affect their quality of life as they have less money to spend on daily living. Moreover, smokers can be punished to do community service. A community order requires offenders to perform a number of tasks for the community, such as tendering the public gardens, cleaning the streets and removing graffiti, which can foster a sense of responsibility. Despite the legal requirement for smoking in public areas, raising people's awareness has a beneficial impact on discouraging smoking. The government can put non-commercial advertisements about the harmful effect of smoking on television. The audio-visual information which is easy to comprehend can attract smokers' attention. After knowing the downside of smoking, people might choose to smoke less. Another way to discourage smokers from smoking is that the government to increase cigarette prices. By increasing the prices, people have to spend more on purchasing cigarettes which means that they need to spend less elsewhere. For example, one pack of cigarette's price goes up from $30 to $60. Then they have to cut the spending on clothing, food and transport so as to get the same amount of cigarettes as before which may have a negative impact on the well-being of people. In conclusion, although strict laws can discourage people from smoking, I do not agree that this is the best way. I believe that raising people's awareness and driving up cigarette prices can be recognised as effective as strict laws.