University students often focus on one subject. However, some people think that universities should encourage students to learn a range of other subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, students tend to target a single subject rather than the conventional practice of equal importance towards multiple streams. Although some believe that, it is better to concentrate on one instead of having half-baked knowledge of everything, in this essay, I would like to substantiate my claim with the corresponding examples of why greater emphasis towards multiple pathways will have more advantage. Firstly, potential graduates must hone their education to focus on varied streams to attract a different set of industries during job searches. This is because the fluctuating demands of each field make it difficult to ace a career if the spotlight is rather given to a single major. For instance, in the last four years, the automobile industry was down due to various reasons, and classmates who took that as their major credit suffered to land a job in contrast to others who equally focussed on general mechanical engineering. As a result, it is essential to have a wider range of knowledge to ace employment upon graduating. Secondly, it is important to consider that in this modern digital world with the industrial 4.0 revolution, each and every subject is interlinked to have a good strong hold on the broader scheme of things. For example, once there were subjects like programming that just focussed on the front-end development alone, but nowadays the demand has shifted to full-stack development. In contrast, when their peers just focus on a single major, the chances of gaining a whole-some knowledge would be minimised as subjects are massively interlinked. To conclude, although having an interest towards a single academical stream is paramount, majoring in that credit alone will have consequences in getting the full picture of the subject and eventually landing a potential job offer due to the ways how the industry is progressing as mentioned with the examples above.