Schools should teach children some academic subjects which will be beneficial to their future careers. Therefore, other subjects such as music and sports are not important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Due to an increase in competition, many are of the opinion that schools should focus on teaching only academic subjects to children and extracurricular activities like music and sports are irrelevant. In this essay, I will elucidate that I completely disagree with this assertion. To begin with, not all students have the same level of intelligence. Also, they may have different interests and passions. Some may be good at the academic level, others will be better at sports. Some may want to pursue their carrier in sports and others in drama or music. If activities like sports, music, theatres, etc are not promoted at the grass root level, the talent of these individuals will be suppressed. For Instance, Sachin Tendulkar became one of the greatest batsmen in cricket history. Because his passion and talent for cricket were identified by his coach during childhood, he was able to get the necessary training and guidance. This helped him in becoming a successful batsman. Moreover, sports and music classes help youngsters to relax and rejuvenate. They also help in the development of various cognitive and physical skills. These skills not only help in the carrier development of a child, but they also help in shaping their future. To exemplify, indulging in sports will keep pupils active and healthy. Additionally, a child can also learn essential life skills like teamwork and discipline. Music helps in developing creative thinking. Children can also learn things like how to express their emotions through music. To conclude, as both academics and extra curricula are equally important for the overall development of a child, one should not be preferred over another.