Expert say older people were happier and healthier in the past because they did more exercise and spent more time with their family and friends, whereas, now many suffer loneliness and health problems. What are the causes of this and what are some solutions?

Ageing is a natural process and every person has to come across this stage once in a lifetime. Nowadays, because of advanced technology and busy working schedules, senior citizens are the ones who suffer the most among all other groups of the community. I intend to further elaborate on the reasons behind this argument and the steps to mitigate this problem. There is a myriad of reasons but the most preponderant one is modernisation. To exemplify, scientists have developed modern machines and equipment such as the discovery of vehicles have made lifestyle more sedentary by replacing the activities such as walking and bicycling and therefore, affect the physical health of an older person. Another pivotal aspect is the busy schedule of the working families of the elderly and because thisof, if they are not able to spend quality time with each other. Hence, older people start to feel isolated and become prey to mental health problems such as dementia and depression. Steps to alleviate this problem are many but the most practical ones are, firstly, the members of a family should organise their day plan in such a manner that they get time for an elderly person and take them out for vacations to get rid of daily stressors. Secondly, the children should teach their parents about productive methods to use modern appliances that could not affect their mental and physical health. Finally,some steps need to be taken by the government to organise events and activities for senior citizens every year to make them feel part of our society. To recapitulate, according to the arguments aforementioned above, one can reach the conclusion that the problems of the elderly can be successfully addressed, provided that the above-stated measures are taken..