It is a commonly held belief that death penalty is a good deterrent to prevent heinous crimes. However, others believe that lifelong imprisonment is a better deterrent. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

For a long time, there has been a debate that capital punishment should be given to criminal who have committed serious crimes, but few others argue that they should be given life imprisonment. In this essay I will discuss both the views and explain why death penalty should be abolished. To embark upon, many people believe that people should be given death penalty for serious crimes such as murder. In addition to this they also think that these people cannot be changed in the prison environment so capital punishment is the only way, so that it sets an example for others. On the other hand, there are other people who argue that capital punishment should be abolished, as giving such punishment makes system no different from the criminal who has committed a murder, also in reality, this has no effect on people, more and more such crimes are happening. Many countries in the world have abolished death penalty in their systems although few countries still follow. These set of humans argue that the environment in which these criminals grew up and the situations that they have face would have made them commit this kind of mistakes in their life, so they should be given chance to change their behavior and transform into a new life. Furthermore, with right kind of counselling and guidance these people can change their mindset and start a new beginning. Moreover, no one has any right to take others life even by the law that governs countries. In conclusion, we have discussed why few people think that capital punishment should be given to serious crimes such as murders as these people cannot be changed, also few others argue that death penalty should be abolished as this has no effect on crimes being committed and that no one has any right to take others life even by the law that governs countries.