As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

In the 5.0 era, the grown-up person who is aged from 18 years old to 50 years old spend most of their time working. This is a normal phenomenon because based on human development research, adolescents should have a career to fulfil their stages of life. There are some factors that can affect job satisfaction. The following essay will discuss them in detail from a work environment and salary perspective. The first factor that can contribute to people’s enjoyment at work is a cosy environment. If management can give the employee space for learning, pair them with a good partner, and an employee can get constructive feedback for their performance, so I can predict that they are happy with their career. Take an example, Indika Foundation as an example of millennial’s workplace, they try build a culture where everyone should share their thought and feeling with others and also encourage their colleagues to take a break when overwhelmed. This situation may be different when in the government office, they have boundaries with others and very rigid with bureaucracy. A good income is also a factor in job satisfaction. If staff get a good monthly income based on their performance and they will get an additional bonus while achieving the target, they will work harder and happy than before. Now, not all workers have satisfaction in the workplace. Because some corporate have different rules to tackle this situation. Unfortunately, sometimes staff get under national standard salary and they also have overtime 6 days a week. Therefore, it is not realistic to meet the expectation of all employees. To summarize, there are two components of job satisfaction: work environment and good salary.