Many governments spend a lot of money on art. Some people think this investment in art is necessary, but others say the money is better spent on improving health and education. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The question of whether to spend money on art or to invest them in healthcare and educational systems is extremely topical today, as so many countries are struggling with problem “how to raise the standard of living?”. Both sides of this argument will be analyzed before a reasoned conclusion is drawn. A good illustration for the side which believes that improving medical system is more important, would-be Maslow’s hierarchy of needs. Where it is said, if physiological needs are not satisfied, such as needs for food, personal security and health, the human body cannot function optimally. Maslow considered physiological needs the most important as all the other needs become secondary until these needs are met. So, it is clearly seen that without culture human will survive but he will not without medical help. But for the education, art can rightly be called on of the most important parts of education, however without knowledge of math or biology it is likely that people will struggle with providing their life level. Taken from another viewpoint, opponents of improving culture in their countries point out many advantages. For instance, bountiful mass of tourists can be attracted by putting a thought-provoking sculpture on the street, which is also a great developing scheme for the economical part of the government. Moreover, the arts cultivate young imaginations and facilitate success in school, enhancing academic achievement in multiple subject areas. They provide the critical thinking, communications and innovation skills essential to a productive 21st-century work force. Furthermore, the arts foster physical, mental and emotional health, aiding recovery processes and contributing to well-being. Arts therapy is a medically and economically effective tool for treating ageing adults, children and people suffering from trauma. Overall, I tend to agree that it is as much important to invest money in art as on health and educational spheres.