Nowadays, many people have to work longer hours, and they feel more stressed out than before. What are the reasons? What can employers do to make their employees' lives easier?

A growing trend of overtime work is a great concern for societies. This is due to a fact that employees' salaries are not enough to meet the necessities of life, however, organizations can help their workers in this regard. This essay will look at the causes of this trend and steps to counter it. To commence, when the in-flow of cash outweighs the out-flow, people become frustrated and start working for extended hours. There are three main reasons for this improper balance of the cash flow. Inflation is the first reason, secondly, many housewives tend to adopt a luxurious lifestyle as shown on electronic media, lastly, a joint family system with only a single working person causes trouble. For example, in Europe, in spite of the better salaries, there is no joint family system and everyone does a job in order to support themselves. Therefore, either government or employers should design a working policy to combat such situations and maintain a healthy work-life balance. Working hours should be limited and no one should be allowed to work for more than 8 hours, furthermore, allowances should be given on top of the basic salaries. In western countries, for instance, many organizations have implemented the policy that anyone, who works for more than the assigned working time, would be penalized. This SOP not only improved the productivity of the human resources but also helps them enjoy their personal lives. To conclude, lesser income and higher expenses put a man to work beyond his working time, which makes him distressed and unhappy. Companies can help their resources by standardising some fixed check-out times within the workplace.