People who live in cities often complain about traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

Traffic congestion is one of the major issues for people who live in urban areas. Many factors contribute to its cause and the majority of them can be corrected. Firstly, it reduces the quality of life, as people may waste several hours in traffic. Secondly, it has a negative effect on the environment. For example, it can contribute to air pollution, sound pollution and global warming. Additionally, there are so many reasons for gridlock jams in cities. For instance, poor planning and the unavailability of proper public transit can lead to congestion. Moreover, the high population density of the cities is the major issue. Therefore, one of the solutions for this issue is to ensure the availability of an effective public transport system. Also, the liberal usage of personal vehicles can be minimised. On the other hand, it is vital to establish a good urban development plan. For example construction of highways, byways and flyovers might ease the crowd. Newer technologies like Google maps, satellite signals and surveillance cameras can help as well. Also, having separate lanes for buses, cyclists and pedestrians may help relieve the chaos. Therefore, in conclusion, ineffective public transit and poor planning are the main causes of jams. Hence it can be avoided by establishing proper urban planning and effective public transportation.