For all children, the ability to play a musical instrument is just as important the ability to read and write. How far do you agree with this suggestion ? How important is it for you to play a musical intrument, in your view.

Some groups of people argue that basic literacy is as relevant as playing a musical instrument for all youngsters. However, I feel that being able to play music is actually less important than reading and writing proficiency. This essay discusses my reasons in detail. To begin with, Music is considered an art, but some people think of it as a hobby. Although early identification of such talent and creativity among preschoolers can shape a brighter future for them, a perfect example are childhood prodigies such as Justin Bieber and Beethoven, others are not musically inclined and passionate about it. For instance, a survey conducted on parents of preschoolers in the Eastern part of Ghana revealed that their primary goal of sending their children to school at an early age is to help develop their abilities to read and write in the English language. the The benefits of being literate genuinely outweigh one's capacity to play the piano or a keyboard. In addition, literacy is a guarantee of education and progress, but music is not. Reading and writing are the foundation of a good education, hence, a lot of schools spend a good amount of time teaching learners how to better put into writing what they read. In my country Ghana, for example, teaching children how to read and write forms the fundamentals of their basic education, whereas musicals are not. This is because being literate better secures one's future as compared to music. There are limited professional musicians. Meanwhile, limited opportunities are readily available for individuals who are educated. In conclusion, despite the fact that music can be beneficial to a minority of juveniles in schools because it prepares them for a perfect future career in the art industry. In contrast, most school children are less interested and moreover, there are numerous job opportunities in literacy compared to music.