As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that drivers should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Undoubtedly, the increasing count of private vehicles has risen the safety concern regarding the roadways systems. It has been argued among individuals whether authorities or car owners ought to be responsible for bearing the expense of road development. This essay will not only discuss both sides of the argument but my viewpoint will also be highlighted while concluding it. Commencing with the most prominent reason why it is the duty of legislators to ensure safety as citizens pay a huge tax to the government which require the government to allocate some portions of the federal fund to the development of transport facilities. By constructing more roads or broadening the existing highways, reduction in traffic congestion could be reduced. Secondly, in certain nations, car owners have already paid the heavy tax while purchasing the vehicle and tax on fossil fuel is another one that the public use to face. Therefore, it is unfair to force them to pay for road infrastructure. Despite the given arguments, others I included also believe that it would be a wise policy to introduce road tax to travelers as it will discourage the unnecessary use of private vehicles. To be more precise, most of the traffic on roads is directly linked to the use of personal transport for daily commuting. Therefore, owning to the decision, many of them would move towards public transport which will not only drop the amount of fuel consumption but also lessen traffic issues. Moreover, lawmakers can utilise their limited budget in other crucial aspects provided that individuals bear the remodelling cost of roads. Health care and education sector should be priorities which are only possible when a significant amount can be devoted to them. To conclude, even though regimes take responsibility for improving roads and motorways, I believe it would be a wise decision if the public shares some proportion of the expense in the form of road tax.