With the advances in science and technology, people from different ends of the world can communicate with each other. What is your opinion on the impact of technologies on our lives? Do you think that these advances only result in positive outcomes?

In this sophisticated era, human activities are eased by the existence of technologies. I believe that although this phenomenon could bring a positive impact, it also brings negative effects on people ’s activities. To begin, it cannot be doubted that technology is a marvel of human ingenuity which could assist people in communication. Using technology, people could communicate with their significant others in different locations easily. A case in point is people who are already married, in the past, people used to send letters to communicate with their partners which was time and energy consuming, but with the advancement of technologies, they could communicate easily without considering the time and energy that they need to spend. Thus, with the existence of technology, people could communicate with their partners easily. Nevertheless, although the technology could bring positive impact, it could also bring drawbacks to people ’s lives. Firstly, people have a predisposition to isolate themselves since they could do their work in their own rooms. For instance, people who use computers to work tend to spend the majority of their time on their screen and lack interaction with their surroundings. Secondly, there is a chance for people to gain weight. With the advancement of technology, a sedentary lifestyle cannot be avoided, so the tendency for people to glue to their screen increases. As a result, people will lack exercise which will lead them to be more obese. In conclusion, even though technologies have brought a merit into human activity such as ease in communication, they could also bring demerits such as lack of interaction and the possibility to gain weight. Given this situation, it is recommended for people to maintain the time that they spend on using technologies.