Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

With a plethora of entertaining features and the ability to help owner keep up with everything up to the minute, smartphone is gradually gaining ground among the young and the increase in the average time for phone use has sparked a controversy of whether it would bring harm to children or not. This essay will delve into the two mentioned reason leading to this perception as well as how phone addicts’ well being are affected. As most of the young today were born in a networked society, their need for interaction and staying updated is huge and a smartphone has enough ability to dissolve these desire. To stay connected in this modern era, a phone with Internet access is required. A smartphone allows children to feel pace with peers by seeing their compatriots’ moments through some posts on social platform or they can simply have a video call to keep in touch with each other. This helps them to feel integrated. However it is the sense of certainty and security that push the screen time upward; without phone, some may become worried that they can not be updated and thus gluing eyes to the phone constantly. Another factor engenders the phone addicts among children is the entertainment, functionalities that a mobile provides. There is an inexhaustible supply of applications and content in this electronic device which is highly addictive thus leading to the increase phone use; the examples include TikTok. This application is designed to make users keep scrolling and it is to the extent that there are numerous research have been conducted into this addiction. Excessive screen time, most obviously, results in children ’s well-being, including mental and physical aspects. As for mentality, being glued to the mobile phone triggers laziness and worse still it can be social isolation. Social media and other online platforms can sometimes be a source of negativity, bullying, or social pressure. Children who spend a lot of time on their phones may be more vulnerable to these dynamics, which can further contribute to social isolation and distress. Additionally, the increase use of phone would deprive children of time to develop their physique. Throughout childhood, the engagement in outdoor activities is necessary for the kids’ growth, such as by standing, running they can develop gross motor skill; reduction in these physical movements can not only bring about the risk of many health problems, such as obesity but also prompt poor gesture and eyes problems. In conclusion, phone obsession lies on children craving for recreational methods and the wish to be up to the minute kept informed of what has been happening around. Although these desire are reasonable, the potential harms that they cause to the young’s health are significantly worth concern.