In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which of these two systems is more appropriate in today’s world

Nowadays, different schools have different curriculum criteria depending upon the demand of that particular city or region in which the school is located. Some cover a wide range of subjects while others, limit their curriculum to specific department-related subjects. This essay will discuss two different sides of the secondary education system along with their positives and negatives. To begin with, providing general education regarding every subject will not only open the mind of the student in every aspect but will also open the doors to different opportunities for him in future. Many students at an early age opt for the subjects that they later find uninteresting. Therefore, if a student has a basic knowledge of other fields then it would be easy for him to switch the subject. Moreover, education, in a particular subject will only provide vast knowledge related to that subject. For example, if a student picks art and later on wants to change his field because of employment opportunities or simply because he was not able to secure a seat at his desired university, he won't be able to do that, because of his or her restricted understanding to that subject. On the other hand, some people are of the opinion that specific subject -related expertise will polish the pupils in a better way. It will make them experts in their subjects which in turn would be beneficial for them in future. In my opinion, one should choose this system only if he or she is sure about the career choice. In conclusion, schools providing particular career-related education are doing a great job by transforming a common student into an expert but in today’s world having general knowledge about the wide range of subjects is more important as it would be able to shield the junior from future uncertainties.