Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects at university in many countries. Why is this? What effects does this have on society

At present, the trend of selecting modules related to science is gradually decreasing. Rather than selecting subjects like Microbiology, and marine science, youngsters are more interested in areas like finance, marketing etc. This essay will discuss the growth of more business-oriented fields of study though the actual effects on society are marginal. First of all, a greater number of young people prefer to major in subjects related to economics, accounting and IT-related fields rather than science. This trend has been updated in the recent past. With the covid situation, distance learning and working from home became more popular. Therefore, business-oriented subjects could easily be taught online than science subjects. For example, microbiology was a popular area in Sri Lanka and there was a huge demand for this in the milk industry. But the students have to engage in practical sessions and field training, while software engineering provides all knowledge and facilitates the training online. However, this influence greatly impacted on science field. Most fresh professionals are more likely to pursue a job at a bank or in the IT field. Although this has led to a decrease in population among certain sections of science, there is still work being done by experienced professionals. For instance, in the covid situation, scientists from different parts of the world are dedicatedly work for inventing a vaccine. As a result, varieties of vaccines were innovated during that period. So, there is still great work being done by scientists. To conclude, it is a logical consequence of more developed economies that many students are less likely to major in the science field. Sadly, the impact on the community will be shown in various ways in the near future.