Some governments today seek to monitor the general public’s electronic communications (in the form of phone calls, texts, and emails) saying that this reduces crime. Many people oppose this, however, saying that it erodes individual freedoms. Discuss the aspects of this debate, and give your own conclusion to the discussion.

Worldwide, immense development and advancement in technology have become an occurrence. This has resulted in the common and, arguably, excessive inclusion of technology in everyday life, especially our personal life. And while some believe it to be a relief, as it seems to pose an extension of security, others disagree with the idea claiming it to be more of a hazard. This essay will be presenting both sides of the discussion. The development and further implementation of various measures of security have always been in our interest as it deters criminals and discourages acts of crime. Consequently, it has resulted in the selective monitoring of personal information by a multitude of companies. This has carefully been implemented with the notion of deterring misdemeanours or any other problematic activity both online and offline. Moreover, sensitive information like location is almost allowed access to every application on our mobile phones. This very same access has given the ability to higher institutions the to retrieve vital information regarding both criminals and victims, thus doubling the count of assistance. However, the very same items that make our lives less complex and more connected, are the ones that pose a danger. Concern has followed the simplicity of access to personal information. People are severely worried that if it were to fall into the wrong hands it could lead to dangerous misuse. Notably, the misuse in a corporate sense is also worrisome. The thought of constantly being observed and monitored poses a threat to privacy, and undoubtedly causes discomfort. In conclusion, while it could be argued that there are drawbacks, the benefits of allowing the monitoring of private data only in specific situations heavily outweigh any adverse effects. Although, as with anything, the capability for misuse is present, more attention should be drawn to all the positive outcomes it offers.