Research shows that some activities are good for health and others are bad. Despite knowing that, millions of people engage in unhealthy activities. What is the cause of this? What can be done?

Some activities are researched that are good for health while others are reported to be harmful to the human body. Although those negative activities have been alerted in society, a huge number of participants are keen on them. This essay will discuss the negative reasons for these impacts and suggest some solutions for people to have a better choice of activities to participate in. Firstly, most of the activities which are good to join are not usually interesting compared to the worse ones. For example, the number of runners in a marathon program is much less than in a fast food eating competition and similarly, people enjoy lying down watching TV instead of going out for a jog. Misleading advertisements usually hide the bad sides of a product or an activity in order to raise their sales, thus, people tend to believe in the near future benefits rather than consider the long-term effects. Moreover, ignorance of harmful activities or habits is increasing among youngsters today. It could be the result of a sedentary lifestyle and should be prevented. There are several actions that Governments or individuals could take to solve the problem stated above. The government could create some campaigns for citizens to participate in the physical training competition or colour run festival to encourage them to go out and enjoy the fresh air and also do exercises. Furthermore, with the younger generation, schools could increase more time for them to enjoy the open-air environment such as field trips, exercise competitions and other activities besides sit-down studying classes. As a result, kids find those events are more beneficial for their development and health. The other outcome is that this generation will grow up with all the good activities, and the worst ones could be reduced efficiently. In conclusion, while there is a range of beneficial activities that can enhance physical health as well as mental relaxation, some others could provide short-term stress release, however, in the long term, they could bring more drawbacks that impact serious health. Solutions for these problems should be considered by both government and individuals.