Some people opine that increasing office hour is a reason for many social and personal problems and that is why it should be reduced to 35 hours in a week. What are the advantages and disadvantages of reducing the working week to 35 hours?

Working hours vary greatly from country to country. The average working week is somewhere between 30 to 50. And reducing the future spent at the office has its pros and cons. Firstly, restricting the duration spent at workplaces allows employees to have quality hours for themselves and their families, which can help greatly in avoiding family conflicts and divorces. Furthermore, parents can spend enough time with their kids, which can massively contribute to the perfect mental and physical well-being of their children. For example, going on a family trip, eating together at dinner, attending a weekend football game, watching a movie in the theatre etc will give a positive and happy vibe to the family. In addition, when an employee has a peaceful family life, he or she might work more effectively and perform better within a given amount of time. For instance, though Finland has the lowest average office hours in the world, it is ranked among the happiest and most developed countries in the globe. On the contrary, shortening the workweek has its own disadvantages. Especially, for a developing nation, it might minimize national productivity. Also, more workers need to be hired and paid which can significantly increase the cost of production. Owners of small businesses will be affected more, as they have to pay more for workers. Even though overwork is stressful, it gives additional income such as overtime pays and public holiday allowances etc. Therefore, income can be significantly lower when the workweek is shortened. To conclude, limiting working duration has both pros and cons. But when it is done properly, the advantages can outweigh the disadvantages.