Some people think that all university students sould study whatever they like. Others believe that they shoyld only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Education nowadays is getting better and better, many people believe that tertiary-level students should have the right to follow their favourite/favoured courses. At the same time, other people support the idea that colleges should study high glories professions such as Science or computer technology to be successful in the future. I am convinced by the first assumption for some reasons. On the one hand, it is not difficult to understand why science and technology majors draw people’s attention. Our nation is becoming more integrated and developing, so these subjects are the keys that pave the way to future prosperity and fame. For instance, some revealed statistics show that less than 10 per cent of high school graduates follow these logical fields, which do not meet the current demand that society needs. Therefore, ITs and scientists will likely be offered higher salaries than other majors. That leads to parents forcing their children to enrol in undesirable courses, which may destroy their interest in education/study. On the other hand, if parents allowed their children to study what they like, they would be happy doing their desired jobs. Although these jobs might not offer an appealing salary, job satisfaction is the core factor determining staff's happiness in workplaces. For example, Elon Musk, who is well-known as the wealthiest billionaire in the 21 century, ever shared that he did not attend Harvard University because he knew he would not earn anything regardless of his parents’ tremendous efforts to persuade him to get into such a prestigious school. He started coding operating systems and opened his own company at an early age. Elon Musk's story implies that when a man knows what he needs, he will follow his belief regardless of difficulties. In conclusion, science and technology are potential majors that pave the way for those who love to perform logical thinking. However, not everyone is gifted to take these demanding jobs. Hence, students must determine what they really like from an early age or take a gap year to explore what they belong to and choose an appropriate route to achieve success.