Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays people tend to follow things that are more popular currently as their hobbies instead of what they are interested to do. Activities that we love to do in our spare time have changed when compared to the past. I totally agree with the above statement and this essay will discuss the reasons behind this. People tend to follow popular hobbies than interesting activities because of social influence. With the advancement of technology, people are exposed to an enormous amount of videos that show many leisure time activities on the internet daily, thus, they automatically tend to follow those trends and fashions because of recurrent influence. For example, the younger generation always wants to try new trending spare time activities that are posted by their friends on Facebook and YouTube than activities they truly like to do. Therefore, humans are easily attracted to things they frequently get in touch with. Furthermore, nowadays most of the trending hobbies are more beneficial in their outcomes. In the past, people did not consider the benefits of those activities, but they did them only for passing their spare time. Instead of that, today people are more concerned regarding economical or health-beneficial type activities. For instance, these days most of the videos that are passed through social media apps promote people to do exercises by attractively showing the advantages. Hence, people are more willing to do these types of advantageous activities than in the past. In conclusion, people's minds have changed by social influence and lean toward more advantageous spare time activities which are more popular on the internet.