In many countries, women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs during the first months after the birth of their babies. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It goes without saying that since the 20th century, technology and some other aspects have affected human life. In past, men were responsible to work outside and earn money, whereas women spent most of their time taking care of children. However, nowadays this has changed and women can have full- time jobs. Regarding this, women have permission to leave their job during the first months after the birth of their babies. Although there are some benefits and drawbacks regarding maternity leave, as far as I am concerned, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, maternity leave has some benefits. One of the benefits is that mothers are able to rest a bit after 9 months of pregnancy and recover themselves. Although during pregnancy they must be really careful to eat healthy food and do specific exercises, after the baby was born is also important to eat healthily because they are usually breastfeeding the children. What's more, another positive point is the fact that newborn babies are really sensitive and taking care of them is essential. This causes a mother to spend most of her time with the baby and she has no time to work. On the other hand, this work break can have some drawbacks. One drawback is the fact that being far from work for a long time causes a loss of motivation. In other words, a mother is really busy doing the house works and she is not motivated enough to work. A compelling example can drive this notion home. I have seen many women who worked full- time but after maternity leave, they decided to just stay at home and take care of children. To sum it all up, having considered all the aforementioned pros and cons, I strongly believe that every pregnant woman deserves to have a break from work due to the fact that they are really busy with their daily lives. Hence, a short break can help them to recover and also take care of their children. However, it was just a story in a nutshell and there are more benefits and reasons to be contemplated. I hope every woman can have some months off to enjoy and take care of their newborn babies.