Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects at university in many countries. Why is this? What effects does this have on society?

These days, there are fewer students choosing to undertake a science -based degree at university in many countries around the world. There are several potential reasons for this trend, and a number of possible effects on society. Firstly, there are perhaps a number of reasons for the declining rate of students studying science at university. In the past, the variety of courses available for students to choose from was quite limited. Standard science -based degree majors, such as physics, chemistry, and biology, were among some of the more popular choices as they were at the time considered to be a pathway into a respectable career. However, with an ever-evolving job market, and more and more specialised degrees on offer at university, science degrees are now often seen as mundane, highly theory based, and therefore less appealing than other options. Furthermore, most careers in science do not offer the lucrative salaries, or glamorous lifestyle that comes with many other modern careers. However, with fewer students studying science at university, it is likely that there will be a short term shortage of scientists in the future. This may pose some problems for companies looking to hire graduate scientists, which may in turn slow the rate of scientific research and discovery. However, a higher demand for scientists is likely to drive their salaries higher, which then becomes an incentive for more students to study science again. Furthermore, governments often offer even more incentives for students to study certain in-demand disciplines at university, such as free or subsidised tuition fees. So, while there may be a short term lack of graduate scientists, the effects of supply and demand, and government intervention should stabilise the issue before it becomes a serious problem. In conclusion, while there are fewer students studying science -based degrees at universities around the world, it is unlikely to have any major long term repercussions on society.