Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

As the world is constantly evolving, buying a car by people primarily who reside in cities has become common. Consequently, there have been substantial traffic jams in most urban areas. I do not doubt that this is a natural phenomenon, and there are tons of encouragements not to own a car, which can be done by governments. Nowadays, most people are buying cars for several reasons. On the contrary, there are numerous traffic jams throughout the cities, even worse during rush hours. Even though this phenomenon has become common in everyday life, we should be aware of its impact on our natural environment. For instance, a recent study by Spring University found that 60% of carbon emissions, a crucial cause of global warming, come from mobile vehicles, most of which are cars. On the one hand, governments can discourage their people from owning a car by making public transportation more convenient and encouraging them to use eco-friendly vehicles such as bicycles. Most people do not use public transport since the fares are roughly the same as the cost of using their cars. Making fares cheaper might persuade some people to use public transport rather than their cars. The New York Times reported in October 2022 that 25% of traffic jams had decreased in Paris within six months as a non-government organization held a campaign that encouraged people to use bikes, which are supported by them, instead of any other transportation. It shows that governments ought to encourage the public to do cycling as well if they are actually willing them not to buy a car. To sum up, since overusing cars unnecessarily causes not only traffic jams but also natural disasters, governments should make some effort to solve these problems by encouraging people to use convenient and eco-friendly transportation.