With a growing world population one of the most pressing issues is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people think that GM foods offer a viable solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today, the population of our planet is rapidly increasing. On the one hand, growing number of humans means more workforce. On the other hand, this causes lots of other problems, and one of the most serious is how to feed everybody. Some people maintain that GM foods could be a valid solution. Personally, I would agree with that. If I were a scientist, I would probably know more about the harm which GM foods could bring to its consumers. And because I am not, I am not really able to talk about positive and negative sides of this type of food. However, what I think is that anyone would choose to eat products which even may be harmful, but not to die. For instance, millions of people are starving a in Africa, so without any doubt I think that it is better to feed them with unusual food. Nevertheless, with regard to any long run decions, we have to modify GM food to be absolutely safe. Again, as an example let us recall Afirca with millions of starving humans. By feeding them with possibly harmful food, we would decrease the death rate, but we do not know what will be with their health in future. So, I think that it is important not to stop developing new types of food. To conclude, I think that GM foods which possibly will bring some damage to human’s health, could be great for short periods of time. However, to consider this food a real decision which will stop starving, we need a strong evidence that it will not be dangerous. What I suggest is to keep impoving GM foods and conduct new researches.