In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

For the companies that attempt to advertise their products, it’s a common practice to put emphasis on how different their products are compared to that of others. Such an approach is profit-driven and results from the harsh competition in the market, and in this essay, I will provide the reasons why I contend that this practice is positive overall. The increasing competition forces companies to aggressively advertise their products and focus on what set them apart. In the current consumerism market, customers are overwhelmed with the wide array of available options which necessarily bring similar end results whenever they make a purchase. Such a condition propels the company to increase the chances that the customers will think of their products when they want to satisfy a specific need. And providing an impressive, innovative or striking aspect of the product in advertisements has been known to be one of the most effective ways to achieve such a goal. For instance, Apple repeatedly advertises its handheld devices as being fast, stable, and equipped with a renowned, secure Apple eco-system, while Samsung does the same activity with a message that their smartphones can flip. In my opinion, the competition among businesses when advertising their products can be beneficial to the customers overall. In order to facilitate promotional activities which put emphasis on the amazing characteristics of a product, companies need to put sizable efforts into their research and development activities. Otherwise, they can be considered a fraud. This will lead to customers being able to enjoy the increasing convenience with the constant rollouts of new product features. Not to mention that big corporates tend to utilize technological advancements such as AI and big data to predict the needs of customers even before such demands are realized by customers themselves. The technological war between Apple and Samsung allows customers to observe the wonderful upgrades of cell phones’ cameras, memory capacity, smart functions, etc. annually. In conclusion, the phenomenon in which companies tend to emphasize how different their products are when advertising is driven by the exponentially growing market competition, which is expected to benefit the customers generally.