Some people think that using mobile phones and computers has a negative effect on young people’s reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are some people still claiming that allowing youngsters to use digital devices such as smartphones or computers may indirectly cause some tremendous effects to them on reading and writing abilities. While there are some drawbacks, some others hold the belief that using digital devices is considered as an effective way for young people to learn by themselves. This essay will discuss both points of view and show my opinion about this phenomenon. On the one hand, parents allowing their children to use telephones and computers too much brings benefits for their ability. With cutting-edge technology, mass media let students themselves deal with their homework without their parents’ help. Because of the reason that modern technological devices provide for the young a big amount of knowledge about diverse fields, students not only complete their task but also practice their soft skills such as: reading and writing. For instance, students nowaday can easily access the Internet to read books and look for documents instead of going to the library. Moreover, technological devices also help the young to point out the mistakes in the essay and correct them. While there are some reasons that lead to the positive effects when the young overuse digital devices, I like most people hold the belief that disadvantages outweigh these advantages mentioned above. First, if youngsters overuse digital devices, they may have some problem with their eyes and nervous system. Because when young people look at the screen for a long time without resting their eyes can become weaker, and their nervousness may be tired. As a result, young people ’s reading or writing skills are reduced. Secondly, using too much smartphones or computers leads children to be addicted. Because they are distracted from studying, they may not understand what they learn at school. Consequently, their based-skills become worse if they do not realize and adjust. In conclusion, allowing children to access technological devices brings both advantages and disadvantages. While some people suppose that using mobile phones or computers help the young boost their soft skills without help from parents and teachers, some others claim that overusing these kinds of devices may build some negative attitude and habitat on the children. I still hold a belief that the disadvantages that digital devices bring significantly outweigh the advantages.