Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a wast of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead. To what extend do you agree with this statement.

Art plays an important role in human life since ancient civilizations. Almost all rulers in the past encouraged the public to be actively involved in different kinds of fine arts and they enjoyed the creativity of the nation. Hence, governments still invest money in arts for their sustainability and development. However, some people believe that it is a waste of money. I totally disagree with this statement and I will discuss why art is important in this essay. To begin with, Arts is an umbrella term which includes many varieties of skills. Painting is an art which shows the ability and skill of an artist. Paintings create happiness in minds of the audience. Some amazing portraits look natural and mesmerize people. For example, Piccaso's Monalisa is a wonderful creature which attracts all visitors with its unique appearance. Piccaso painted this drawing with an illusional look that the eyes of Monalisa always look at visitors wherever they are. That is why this painting sold out for billions of money. Meanwhile, drama and music are entertainments for the public which help them relieve their stress. Further, concerts and theatre earn a lot of income for the country. The unique culture of any nation is mainly dependent on arts such as dance, costume, music and song. For a better example, the Kandian dance and the elephant parade in Sri Lanka are highly popular in other countries. This traditional art attracts a large number of tourists to Sri Lanka and helps in earning foreign currency. Also, encouraging art empowers the culture and creates many employments. In conclusion, investing in the arts is a way of increasing the income of any country and never being wasted.