Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether providing personal information helps screen applicants’ resumes. While certain information may be useful in this process, I believe people should have the right to refuse to provide some personal status. On the one hand, it may be rational to argue that employers find certain aspects of the applicants’ personal lives relevant to their professional performance. The most important reason is that companies decide who is the candidate most appropriate for the vacancy based on a combination of factors, which include not only his or her professional competency, but also the personality, such as whether this is a team player or a trouble maker. As a matter of fact, personal information such as leisure activities may provide some clues. For example, people who enjoy group sports may have a better chance to be a nice team player. On the other hand, not all personal information is related to work, and I believe this type of information should be kept as privacy of the applicants. Marriage status is one good example of the personal status that should be confidential to employers, simply because it usually does not matter at work. Firms have the freedom to choose anyone they consider suitable, for any reason, but it would be wrong to make decisions only based on whether the applicant is married or single. Furthermore, notifying irrelevant information to employers may also lead to discrimination against certain group of people, such as specific religious groups. In conclusion, it is my belief that it is reasonable for employers to ask for personal information as long as it has connection to working performance, but other information should be respected and protected as privacy.