There is too much noise in many public places in cities. What are the causes of this problem? What can be done to solve the problem?

It has been observed that, now-a-days the noise pollution in the urban areas has increased a lot. This essay looks to achieve the task by stating the possible reasons for the same along with suggesting implementable remedies to resolve the situation. At the outset, there are two chief causes of high noise levels in the modern cities. The primary reason is rapid growth in the volume of traffic. It is fact that, as the population in the towns have grown, the number of vehicles on the road have skyrocketed. With the increased number of automobiles, the noise of horns and the engines have breached the levels of human tolerance. For example, in India in cities such as Delhi and Mumbai, the noise pollution is the highest, as compared to other regions, as these cities have the highest individual population.Another reason for this observation is ever increasing manufacturing units in these towns. It isundeniably true that, all these urbanized regions have large number of factories which have numerous machines that run throughout the day. These production units produce different types of sounds, which are unpleasant to any living being and hence result in noise pollution. The possibility of bridging the gap, even though tough, is not an impossible task. First and foremost is put restrictions on the honking of the automobiles. It is an irrefutable fact that, the majority of the noise existing in open places is due to people blowing horns as they lack patience while standing at a traffic signal. The police on the roads should impose fine on an individual who unnecessarily honks. To exemplify, in countries such as Vatican City, it is prohibited to honk while you are standing at a traffic stop. Another possible solution is to move the manufacturing plants in the outskirts of the cities where the problem of noise is persistent. By doing this, the people residing in the city would be able to find some relief in terms of disturbance caused by the usage of the machines in such factories. To conclude, the fact that increased levels of noise can be attributed to valid reason such as growing traffic volume and the existence of production units within the city. The remedial measures such as putting some restrictions on honking of the vehicles and moving the manufacturing units out of the city, if implemented with utmost honesty and with the right set of intentions, the issue at hand can be mitigated to a large extent.