The high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which the goods are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that we are increasingly surrounded by advertising by companies that want to sell their product. However, I completely disagree with this statement. on the one hand, advertising is a key part of modern business. Today’s competition between companies is so high and advertisements are necessary for each profession. firstly, it would be wrong to reduce advertisements due to the companies might be deleted by competitors with grows of their sales. Secondly, the income and profit of the company decreased significantly during a period of the fiscal year because of low sales. As result, the company goes bankrupt and many people lose their job and also unemployment rate increase dramatically. On the other hand, companies need to tell customers about their products and services. Introducing new services and products is only possible through advertising. A good example could be a new model cellphone that every year has been supplied to the market by different companies, it comes with a lot of advertising. However, we now live in a consumer culture where everybody tries to buy things that don’t need them. Advertisements can certainly tempt individuals to buy products that they might not otherwise. For instance, every year people can be seen queuing to buy the latest models of iPhone, even when they already have a perfectly good phone that does not need replacing. Perhaps it is the influence of marketing that leads us to make this kind of decision. The high sales of the iPhone seem to support this idea. In conclusion, I would argue that companies have to advertise their products as well as people should be free to purchase what they need.