Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

In this modern age, with ubiquitous access to computers, video games have become a popular activity for children. This trend is causing childhood obesity and other related diseases that arise from too much computer gaming. This damage, however, can be significantly reduced by engaging children in outdoor activities. One of the most contingent reasons for why children are increasingly preferring onscreen gaming to outdoor recreational activities that involve physical movement is easy access to computers. As a result of their sedentary video gaming habit, they will develop childhood obesity, which is well above their normal and healthy weight range. These children are at an increased risk of breathing problems and other high blood pressure related diseases. As an example, people who weigh 20 percent more than their standard average weight are 50 percent more likely to become obese adults. This is associated with a number of serious health conditions including heart disease, diabetes, and even cancer. The measures taken against that problem are in effect abbudant. Help from parents comes first and foremost. Family members can address it smartly by attracting their children to outdoor sports and entertainment that involve enough physical movement. They can enrol them in art or sport schools for extracurricular activities which divert the children's attention from too much video gaming. By providing these facilities to the children, parents are able to prevent the damage caused by excessive computer gaming. Children who participate in outdoor physical activities at least 8 hours a week are 40 percent less likely to become obese adults than those who do not participate. In conclusion, obesity is one of the major problems children develop as a result of incredibly easy access to computers. This access leads to an excessive gaming habit in children. However, regular outdoor leisure activities and involvement inextra-curricular programs could be the most effective possible measures to address this issue.