Modern cultures around the world have become similar when compared to the past. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

In this evolving era, many customs and cultures around the globe are changing compared to the previous era. There are several reasons why this phenomenon is happening and I believe that it has offered some advantages. Modern cultures have become similar for the following reasons. First of all, one major reason is because of the internet. In other words, the spreading of information through the internet has brought people around the globe may easily to access and see other people ’s customs easily. For example, people watch Korean dramas on Youtube or Indonesian people watch western people ’s styles on Instagram. As a result, people might adopt these cultures in their daily lives. Furthermore, another reason for this is that people have traveled overseas for their business. When many businessmen travel to other countries to expand their businesses, they might run their businesses in a creative way. For instance, young entrepreneurs invest their money to have a Japanese restaurant in Indonesia. Because of this, people can directly experience different vibes of how it is like to be served and eat at a Japanese restaurant even in Indonesia. I believe that the above phenomenon has been a positive development for several reasons. In the first place, people will expand their horizons. For example, they will learn many dances from other countries. Thus, people will probably gain more knowledge and a deeper understanding. In addition to this, the similarity of modern cultures will make people respect each other. The reason for this is that the more people expose or exchange their cultures with one another, the more people will respect and acknowledge diversity. Consequently, this could also diminish the problem of discrimination that already existed and people will live in harmony. In conclusion, because of the Internet and many people expanding their businesses, modern cultures have been similar nowadays. This development has brought people to gain more understanding and lead to less discrimination. Given this situation, it is recommended that the government introduce their people to different cultures from other countries for the sake of diversity.