Many people believe that international tourism has negative implications on their countries. What is the reason for it? What can be done to change the negative attitude towads international tourism?

oday, visiting other countries has become more accessible and cheaper than ever. There has been much discussion revolving around the issue of whether international tourism has a negative effect on countries. In this essay I will provide the reasons and possible solution for this issue. On one hand, international travels contribute to littering, which causes higher pollution in the countries or some areas. For example, Lithuania is mostly known for its beautiful nature which needs to be preserved, but due to the fact that visitors act irresponsibly it can lead to the destruction of the environment. Another factor, which leads to negative outcomes is increase of prices to locals. To illustrate, tourists are more wealthy than locals and they can afford to buy higher priced goods, souvenirs or services. Consequently, local people have to pay unfair prices, therefore putting a burden on their income. To overcome the issues of pollution and increasing cost due to international traveling, governments need to implement measures accordingly. Firstly, it is necessary to impose environmental taxes on international tourists visiting different places. Such as, parks, national reserves or recreational areas. In order to solve the issue regarding increased prices local governments need to interfere and differentiate prices accordingly. For instance, applying discounts to local citizens this way solving the problem of overpricing. In conclusion, international travelers cause problems not only for the environment, but also for the locals too. By implementing taxes and lowering prices for locals could help with a negative attitude towards international tourists.