Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

In the past few decades, it has been observed that, more people are buying cars than they used to be. Likewise, traffic jam has also risen rapidly during the same course of time. In this essay, we see if this comment is true and if yes what measures the government can take to reduce it and thus comes up with a reasoned conclusion. Firstly, there is no denying that this statement is true, because not only there is a constant traffic conjunction in cities and around them, whereas, there has been a significant rise in air pollution as well. Folk take now double the amount of time to reach their work, school or home due the road jam. Consequently, parking in the city is also turning out to be a problem due to the lack of enough parking and road space.Sometimes these conjunctions can last for a couple of hours, furthermore, there is also a report about the air pollution caused by the rise in the number of autos on the road. For instance, research has found that there has been a 58% of the carbon-dioxide increase in the air because of petrol consumption. Nevertheless, it would be wise if more people could buy fewer vans or use them less on a daily basis. Accordingly, the government can introduce a few ways to resolve this issue. Firstly, they can reduce the price of daily public transportation, so that the public finds it convenient to use it every day. Secondly, they can introduce e-cycle for free, as it is not just eco-friendly but also good for human health. For example, in Melbourne and Sydney, the government have made public vehicles half their actual price, as a result, more and more people are interested in taking public transport and launched e-shooter for the public to use for work or at home. In conclusion, it is clear as crystal that, it would be wise for our society to help our environment by practising less usage of cars in the future and more public transport or just cycles. Therefore, less usage of cars means a better atmosphere to breathe and live in.