Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more to encourage people to consume less sugar. do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include relevent examples from your own knowledge and experience.

The sugar content in packaged food and drink products is seriously high which leads depreciation of health. While, some people might think that making sweet edibles more expensive would force people to consume sugar in a controlled way. However, I would disagree with it due to many reasons. Firstly, eating sugar -rich food gives out a sense of pleasure to the brain which makes it extremely difficult to resist the urge to consume sugar. This implies that raising the price will not help, as people would continue to pay more for same the sugary products. Secondly, people are not aware of the fact that many companies add excessive sugar to their products to improve the flavour and attract more consumers. lastly, a manufacturer would do anything to retain existing and attract new customers For example, fruit juice manufacturing companies blend fruit and extract all the moisture from it. Doing so will results in a thick pulpy paste of the fruit and this paste can be stored for months or even a year without it going bad. Due to this process most of the nutrients and taste are lost, to compensate for this loss, companies add artificial sweeteners or sugar to make it taste better. In the last,stage they mix the fruit paste with preservatives and water. Then they package and sell them as real fruit juice. In a nutshell, I can say that many companies add more sugar than required which results in people being affected by diabetes and other diseases. But people still buy these products because they are not aware of these facts.