Some commentators feel that grandparents should live together with their children and grandchildren, while others say that elderly people should be encouraged to live independently. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion.

Some society claim that old folk and their immediate family should live in the same household whereas others think aged people should be independent if they can afford it. However, In my opinion, I believe grand parents should be encouraged to live alone provided they are in good health and are financially stable. This essay will discuss the advantages of both the traditional style of living and its affordability. On the one hand, it is agreed that old people tend to live with children in order to provide emotional support. For instance, extended families living in the same household keep each other company which prevents boredom and emotional stress. Furthermore, aged people are believed to live with their descendants for security. The number of family living in the same,household reduces the risk of robbery and other accidents. Finally, it is supported that it is cheaper for elderly folk to live together with their children. For example, in my country, a family house is very common since there is no rent to be paid and bills are split among members of the family which makes life more affordable. On the other hand, some argue that grandparents being self-reliant encourages more independence and self-esteem. For instance, family member is able to make their own decisions and are accountable for their actions without considering any other member which boosts their self-esteem as an adult. In addition, old folk living independently are believed to increase privacy since not all family members enjoy other members meddling in their private life. For example, in Ghana, married family members moved out of their family homes because there is no respect for privacy which resulted in divorce. Lastly, Grand parents usually have visiting sessions with children and grandchildren which is assumed to create cheerful and memorable moments. In conclusion, I believe it is better to live alone provided there is health and finance to support being self-sufficient. Overall, it appears to me that stronger arguments are in favour of grand parents living independently, with all the advantages of self-reliance and privacy.