Writing Task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

Nowadays, individuals have turned to pay less attention to the things they enjoy doing. This has a great impact on the people and their environment at large. In this,essay we will be looking at the reasons why humans have reduced the time they spend on personal stuff and the consequences resulting from this. To begin with, there has been an increase in the cost of living in recent times, this has resulted in some individuals increasing their working hours to make extra income for themselves. Hence, they turn out to be very exhausted from this extra working time and will barely create space for leisure. For example, in Cameroon, there has been a drastic rise in the prices of goods in the market due to the recent pandemic. This has resulted in humans looking for several options to survive in this economy,thereby reducing the time they spend on personal tasks. However, some people still make out time for the things they love doing. It takes them away from the pressure of society and needs to outdo themselves. It gives room for self-reflection, and also a form of accountability. For instance, for someone who is passionate about basketball, dedicating a few hours every day a week to playing it will improve their physical well-being which is very essential to every human, physically fit citizens are an asset to their nation. In conclusion, according to me, the need to make more income has resulted in people paying little or no attention to their hobbies, making out time for the things you love helps you to have some time for self-reflection.