Some educationalists say every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that the teaching of playing a musical instrument should be given to youngsters. Besides its merits, I am not convinced of this opinion for some reasons. On the credit side, there are plausible reasons why the knowledge of playing an instrument should be imparted to students. Firstly, studying musical tools can help children to enhance their concentration and discipline. To become a talented instrument player means that children need to undergo a rigorous training process to enhance their overall hand dexterity. Secondly, this is also a method to release mental stress in children. As youngsters often get bored and depressed after a hectic schedule, listening to the sound of a musical instrument is a recommended way to sweep away their depression and recharge energy. On the debit side, there are also some downsides to consider. As every human being has their different abilities, and capabilities, not every child has an interest in or aptitude for music. This means that not every child is willing to commit their free time to learn how to play a musical instrument. Additionally, the cost of musical equipments and lessons has been the subject of debate. The amount of budget needed to buy musical instruments and hire a tutor is extremely high which not every middle-class parents can afford. Consequently, the number of children can not meet the demand to study musical tools is considerable. To recapitulate, although learning a musical instrument can brings a variety of advantages to child development, i strongly believe the teaching of this is not suitable for most families due to its cost of equipments and the requirement for time commitment.