Many children are encouraged by their parents to get a part time job in their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Parents motivate to indulge their children to have a lot of activities and a part-time job is one of them. In this essay, I will explain why the benefits of having a part-time job overshadow the potential drawbacks. On the one hand, getting involved in part-time employment could pose two challenges to children. Firstly, it may distract them from their school activities as they may usually get overwhelmed with part-time job responsibilities. To illustrate, because of a heavy workload, it is probable that they will end up too lazy for studying or even play hooky. As a result, they may face difficulty in keeping up with the subjects, which could potentially lead to getting bad scores in the annual reports. Secondly, children might have a lack of time even if they can maintain the right balance between their part-time job and school, considering that children normally spend five to seven hours at school. Because of this, they will probably have limited freedom to explore their potentials, spend time with others or even get rest. Such poor work-life balance could make them stress and burn out. On the other hand, I would argue that having a part-time job offers more benefits to children. Firstly, it enables children to obtain work experience, which can be the added value to them at a later stage in life. For example, by being exposed to a real working environment, they can get the chance to learn a number of skills such as critical thinking, leadership, and problem-solving. As a result, they have a lot of possibilities to get hired since most companies nowadays focus on experienced candidates. Furthermore, having a part-time job means that children earn a salary. As they learn how hard to make their own money, they can not only help reduce their parents’ expenses, but they can also learn about financial management, which can improve their financial plans. In conclusion, while part-time jobs can provide children with the opportunity to gain valuable work experience and appreciate the value of money, they will lack the freedom to explore their personal interests and they may end up ignoring their school responsibilities. Therefore, on balance, I remain firmly convinced that the merits are eclipsed by the demerits.