People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

It is commonly believed that more and more sugary beverages are being consumed globally. While the fact results from a number of reasons, some countries have taken measures to decrease the intake of the above-mentioned product. The principal explanations for higher and higher consumption of sweetened drinks are the appealing flavour and the influences of ubiquitous adverts. Initially, it is a matter of fact that this type of liquid is much tastier than still water. During producing process, many additional ingredients have been put into the drinks so as to make them become irresistible. For instance, despite the fact that milk tea is high in sugar, fat and calories, many students still devour it every day. Another factor is that heavy marketing promotes the consumption of sugar-added drinks. Obviously, people's choices are often influenced by trends; therefore, producers wisely hire famous KOL, celebrities in ad campaigns to attract consumers, especially the youth. In order to resolve the problem, some solutions should be put forward. Firstly, the authorities had better impose a higher tax on the product. Consequently, if the price increases, users will need to consider it before purchasing. Removing all vending machines in public places is another effective solution. As plenty of people are lazy going a far distance merely to buy a can of coke, the purchasing amount will drop. To explicate, even when a person is desperate for a Coke, he will not travel some kilometres just to buy one. Ultimately, more campaigns on raising awareness of the negative effects of regular intake of sugary drinks over a long time should be put into action. An example, to illustrate this point, is no soft drinks are allowed to be put on the market without having health warning labels on them such as “diabetes risk”, “Consumers of this product are prone to obesity”, or “unhealthy for teeth”. To conclude, although sugar-based beverages are tasty and energetic advantageous, for the sake of global consumers, those in charge need to take practical actions to lower the consumption of this unhealthy product.