Air transport is increasingly used to export fruit and vegetables for countries where they can not be grown through out the season. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this.

There is an increase in the use of the aviation industry to transport fresh yield to countries where they are not always available. This gives quite a variety of options for people to choose from and is a great source of income for farmers from countries selling overseas. Nevertheless,air transport is quite expensive and also causes pollution. The main advantage is farmers sell their fresh farm produce overseas to make a lot of money. This is a source of income for the country via taxation on export duty and also for farmers who have a ready market for their products. For instance,in a country like Qatar which is always dry and the high temperature, it is impossible for them to grow their own food. In addition, this also provides people with a great choice of variety.Most outputs offer nutritional value which is important to our bodies.Not being able to take enough of these nutrients can cause server health conditions which can be quite costly to treat.A prime example as reported by the Guardian 2% of the UK population is affected by scurvy. However,the disadvantage of this is keeping the products always fresh is costly.From aircraft maintenance to fueling requires a lot of money. Consequently, this results in the price of products being slightly high and not everyone can manage. For example,as reported by the sun,the price of overseas produce cost 5% higher than locally grown ones. Furthermore,aeroplanes cause air pollution.The toxic gases that are left behind by cargo planes contribute to the destruction of the ozone layer. This results in global warming as reported by the Times that an aeroplane omits an average of at least 6% of toxic gases per flight which is harmful. To sum up, whereas transportation of fruits and vegetables overseas gives people a variety to choose from,we can not ignore the drastic and lethal drawbacks which include pollution and the resulting high market prices.