some argue that it is more beneficial to keep friendships with people who share the same thoughts or having friends who have a different opinion.

While some argue that it is more beneficial to keep friendships with people who share the same thoughts because it promotes harmonious relationships, this essay strongly believes that there are more positives about having a different opinion as it leads to critical thinking and enhances one´s personality. Considering firstly the argument about the benefits of having a friend who shares the same opinion, this will nurture their relationship with peace and harmony. This is because when someone shares the same point of view, they talk more politely and calmly, instead of arguing or fighting, which could eventually lead to hostile relationships. As a result, this leaves a sense of integration in a group of friends or in a community as they are sharing the same values and opinions, therefore, making them live happier. For instance, when two people share the same morals about a certain religion, they will feel closer and can discuss religions more openly and quietly. However, I do not agree with this because I think that if someone shows critical thinking about the world and discusses different understandings, it would help people to shape their personalities. Having said that, when someone has friends who sometimes do not agree with them, this helps them to see their surroundings from a different perspective. This is highly desirable because people not only become more tolerant and comprehensive about others, but also people acquire more knowledge about different subjects. Additionally, this knowledge can be further shared with others, enriching other´s points of view as well. For example, when a Russian citizen, who only knows about one side of the Ukraine-Russian war, shares their opinion with someone who knows about the conflict inside out, the former might change their opinion and spread the word accordingly. This could contribute to the end of the war because Russian people could stop to support that political view. In conclusion, although sharing the same opinion with others will contribute to a peaceful relationship, I am a vehement supporter that debating opposite points of view brings more benefits because it can shape people ´s understanding of their surroundings, contributing this form to a better world.