Human activities have negative effects on plant and animal species. Some people think it is too late to do anything about this problem. Others believe that effective measures can be taken to improve this situation. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent decades, anthropogenic activities have become a major ecological concern as it has led to a loss of global biodiversity. There are people who think that we are too late to conserve the dying flora and fauna whereas others believe the contrary. I strongly believe that effective steps can be taken to protect these species. This essay will discuss both sides, my opinion followed by a comprehensive conclusion. To commence, many would argue that we are too late to protect these species as we have already lost two-thirds of the plants and animals. For example, the population of vultures and leopards is such that it seems impossible to conserve them. Also, many would claim that human development is more important than protecting natural habitats like forests. As a result, we are experiencing further loss of such organisms. Hence, as per this ideology, we should not focus on this issue as it is beyond recovery. On the flip side, a part of society argue for protecting these species as it has been achieved in many parts of the world. For instance, the population of tigers doubled in India within a span of two decades. To elaborate further, dedicated protected areas can be built to provide habitats to the forest-dwelling organisms. To illustrate, National parks have been established in India to protect endangered species. Hence, there are ample number of ways to solve this issue.