Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do yu think might be effective?

As many people nowadays prefer eating food that comes from different countries and regions more than locally grown production, the food products nowadays travel long distances before being bought and eaten. Although having more options enriches the diet of contemporary people with new tastes and unusual sources of macronutrients, it also affects both our health and the environment negatively. In this essay, we’ll study both benefits and downsides of this trend to see if it is worth moving our food so far away before it reaches the end consumer. One of the primary benefits of having food from different parts of the world on our plates is the opportunity to experience diverse cultures and tastes. It helps people to learn more about different countries and get interested in new cultures and even traveling to new places at some point. For example, Lebanese restaurants, opened by immigrants, make western people try arabic cuisne, become accustomed to it and become more tolerant to foreign culture in general at the same time. Besides that, having ingredients from abroad might help people with special dietary needs in some situations as they have broader choice and access to unusual food elements and food supplements this way that might be better for their health. For example, kinoa, which is a perfect source of vegetable protein, is imported from South America to all countries in the world and serve well in the nutrition plans for people with diabetis. Despite these benefits, a couple of serious drawbacks makes the trend of long-distance traveling food quite problematic. First of the issues is traveling itself. Working as a whole, all the countries are trying to reduce C02 emissions, at the same time, moving food from one country to another which jeopardizes this goal. Moreover, for transportation purposes, fruits from overseas, such as bananas and apples, are often harvested before they are ripen and are subjected to gas to make them ripe at the point of destination. Many researches prove that to affect negatively digestion of the end consumers. That’s why when we’re talking about the green produce, at any given moment, eating locally grown apples will be better both for environment and health. In conclusion, the trend of consuming more international food and cuisine has both advantages and disadvantages. While it provides an opportunity for people to experience diverse cultures and tastes, it also has the potential to contribute to environmental impact and be harmful for consumers’ health. Overall, the benefits for individuals do not pay off the potential drawbacks for our planet. If the trend of buying food overseas will become less popular in the future, it will help humankind build a more sustainable economy.