The tourist industry has grown enormously over the last fifty years and there are few places which are unaffected by it. However, tourism rarely benefits the countries which tourists visit. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In recent years tourism has become one of the most vivid and growing sectors. Although some areas remained uncontaminated, the development of tourism doesn't always create benefits for the locations visited by tourists. In this essay, I will completely disagree with this statement. Firstly, I will discuss why the tourism sector could represent an opportunity to increase the local economy, and secondly, I will explore how local communities can benefit from having contact with other cultures. It seems clear that tourism brings a lot of money to the local communities. For this reason, the inhabitants can invest these funds to improve their infrastructures and facilities. As a result, there will be positive effects on the local economy and, consequently, people will be able to come and visit the places. Moreover, the development of tourism may create new job offers, especially for young people. For instance, graduate students have the possibility to find employment in their birth town without the need to move abroad. Another point worth mentioning is the possibility to communicate with people from other cultures. In other words, tourists are a great source of new knowledge and traditions which local communities can learn from. For example, there will be a major need to improve and learn English well, since this is one of the most spoken languages around the globe. In conclusion, the tourism sector plays an important role around the globe in making more and more locations known to the public. In my opinion, this industry has helped the local places and their communities both economically and socially.