Car drivers and cyclists share the same road, and this causes problems for both of them. Why is this case? What are the measures to solve these problems?

It has been universally acknowledged that sharing the same road with cyclists and other motor vehicles is leading to more accidents and even causing deaths sometimes. However, this problem can be curbed by adpoting adapting certain measures. This essay will shed light on the major causes and its solutions. To begin with the reasons of this issue, firstly, growing population at an alaraming rate is resulting in more vehicles on the roads. Overcrowding in cities make public transport very difficult to use, due to which, individuals has to buy their own cars and use them at regular basis. Secondly, many governments arould the world have also overlooked the cyclists safety, as a result, more and more accidents occur regularly on the streets which is forcing the cycle owners to switch to other vehicles. To address this problem, governments can play a vital role. Building proper infrastructure with specially dedicated lanes for cyclists, followed by, imposing heavy motor vehicle taxes can make drastic changes in the country's overall outlook on road safety. This will not only boost the confidence of riders but this will also assist the government in tackling the other major globally recognized problem of pollution and global warming. Vancouver, for instance, has been awarded for implementing best policies in favour of cycle riders and environment. To sum up, undoubtedly, cars and cycles on the same road is a very dangerous combination. Since many countries have been strugling to cure this problem, but there are also few nations who have done well to overcome this issue, the governments, in particular, has to shift its focus on making roads wider and enforcing new biker friendly policies.