Traffic congestion is becoming increasingly problematic in major cities. What solutions can you suggest to help solve the problem?

Nowadays as a consequence of technological breakthroughs, more people consider cars as the most comfortable mean of transportation and this leads to traffic congestion, especially in major cities. This essay will discuss the main problems associated with the increasing number of automobiles and propose some possible solutions to avoid them. To begin with, it is generally accepted that gasoline-powered vehicles are detrimental to the environment. Since the largest quantity of exhaust gases is released during acceleration, traffic jams aggravate the problem. Therefore, the possible solution is to interchange cars with bicycles, the result of this measure is a decline in congestion and emissions as well as a rise in physical activity among the population. However, this can be applied only in countries with pleasant climates. For instance, in Netherlands this idea is quite popular. Furthermore, with high traffic on the roads time that will be spent on the way to the final destination becomes unpredictable, consequently, people are increasingly late for work or important meetings. The best way to avert delays and make roads less loaded is to use public transport, by virtue of the strict schedule it allows people to estimate the travel time more precisely. Another advantage of this solution is that there is no need to pay parking fees, it is extremely beneficial because in big cities they are high, especially in the central area. Nevertheless, the public conveyance is overcrowded during rush hour, so there is a demand for an improved transportation system, for example, the construction of additional metro lines. In conclusion, the enlargement of the number of cars causes obnoxious troubles. The most effective solution is to replace automobiles with other means of transport.