Governments spend large amounts of money on art that not all people enjoy. This money could be better spent on things that benefit the majority of the population. Do you agree?

In the world of seven billion people, the media have a significant impact on our daily routines. However, apart from several benefits, the media are causing some problems in society. On the one hand, the media have changed positively the way people live as it has lots of upsides. Firstly, it is the best way to get and share information easily. Most people, for instance, hear about new commodities such as home aplliances or medical drugs with the help of advertisements in the media. Furthermore, new business companies use the media so that they can get their products acquainted over the world. Samsung, to take one instance, sets a great number of advertisements to the media globally, as a result of which its sales increase. On the contrary, we cannot deny some drawbacks which the media have as it is considered to be the best weapon to change someone's mind or demolish somebody's reputation. Consider, say, terrorists also make use of the media so as to get semselves sponsored both financially and physically. They can appeal young and unexperienced people for their bad purposes. In addition this, the media provide useless and harmful advertisements like Coca Cola, junk food and so on as well as good ones, which harms individuals' health. Therefore, the media have both positive and negative sides. In conclusion, I hold the belief that media possess both favourable and unfavourable sides as an English saying: "You have to take the god with the bad".