Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects at university in many countries. Why is this? What effects does this have on society?

Today, when teenagers graduate from high school, they mostly do not prefer scientific areas to study in college worldwide. There seem to be three roots of this situation and a number of effects, which we will discuss here. Possibly the main cause is unemployment. By, this we mean that many graduates have chosen scientific subjects at university for decades and the majority of job spots are filled by them. Therefore, new job-seekers worry about finding an occupation in this field. According to research, for instance, recruiters of companies cope with keen competition between scientists to get the job. This results in a considerable amount of the young population who graduated from maths, medicine, and dentistry would not be able to have a stable occupation. A further well-known reason is a difficulty and expense of studying these topics in terms of both tuition fees and materials for education. For example, in medical schools, students need some chemical substances for experiments in laboratories which they have to pay for them, resulting in a drop in the preference of these departments. The effects of this problem on people can be serious. Firstly, a decline in interest in science will cost governments because new technological and scientific developments will probably slow down, causing economical issues for countries. For instance, during a period of a pandemic, scientists failed to invent a vaccine against the virus that caused the pandemic and, finally the country that created it first earned a huge amount of money on it. Another widely-observed impact would be the increased success of other domains such as art or music which is caused by being raised of qualified artists, poets, and musicians in universities. This shows that although the decreased interest in science can be seen as a negative circumstance, it can also has some positive effects. In conclusion, economy and work appear to be fundamental origins of this statement and they affect the development of states and the improvement of other fields.